The Greatest Sum.

Avett Brothers take two. #flocktotherock

A post shared by Mary Zakheim (@marylouisezak) on

I arrived in Denver on Friday, my iPhone already blaring The Avett Brothers on shuffle as I walked off of my plane and onto the shuttle.

“Forever I will move like the world that turns beneath me / and when I lose my direction, I’ll look up to the sky”

I officially couldn’t wait until I got to see my favourite band, The Avett Brothers, for the second time. And this time was set to be more spectacular – it was at Red Rocks Ampitheatre, a beautiful concert venue that squares the audience away between two huge rocks and one magical stage, views of Denver rising on the horizon behind it.

I’d been watching videos and dreaming of the setlist. I’d hoped they’d play my favourite song.

As the crowd filled in around me, my excitement rose: I was going to see The Avett Brothers! After a great set from the opener, Lake Street Drive, the crowd waited in electric anticipation.

Apparently that wasn’t all that was electric. A huge thunderstorm rolled in over us, completely blacking out the dimming light of the eight o’clock sky. The National Weather Service had the venue announce that we should all grab cover in our cars as we wait out the dangerous storm. As the sane people began to flee, my friends and I ran down to the stage and grabbed a spot seven rows from the stage – seven! And so we waited. For an hour in the scattered rain and the thunderous claps affirming our insanity.

And then, just when I was wondering if we all might die before we got to see the Avetts, the lights flashed, the storm was over and the band was storming the stage.

“I wanna have pride like my momma has / and not like the kind in the bible that turns you bad / and I wanna have friends that I can trust / that love me for the man I’ve become, not the man that I was”

Needless to say, by the time these last lyrics played I had danced and sung and cried and laughed and smiled more times than I can count.

Red Rocks + Avett Brothers = dreams fulfilled. #Math

A post shared by Mary Zakheim (@marylouisezak) on

So naturally…

Just one more Avett picture, I swear.

A post shared by Mary Zakheim (@marylouisezak) on

We bought tickets for Saturday’s show. Red Rocks + Avett Brothers: take two.

Another day, another completely unique setlist. Throughout their three day stint at Red Rocks, these amazing musicians didn’t repeat a single ballad – they sang 78 different songs in all!

My friend and I, armed with books and baguettes, arrived to camp out in line at four o’clock on Saturday. We ended up snagging seats three rows from the front, sitting next to amazing fellow fans and rocking out all night. It was perfection.

“I have been homesick for you since we’ve met / I have been homesick for you”

I’ll always be homesick for these sweet, simple songs that echo my soul’s words.

Leave a Reply

