Hip Hop and Modern Fiction

The beats are rhythmic in my ear:

bom-bom-bop-buh-bom-bom-bop

The words are comedic to my eyes:

“You wanted to hear the alcoholic Indian father jukebox.”

 

I read a book that won the Faulkner Award for Fiction

As I listen to music that I first heard while sitting on dead grass at midnight.

 

Maybe I’ve been watching too many Hamilton interviews

But the two things pair well together

Like red wine and bread —

Or white wine and summertime.

 

Maybe because they’re both saying the same thing:

“The next day, the first Jesuits walked into a Coeur d’Alene Indian fishing camp.”

Says the book.

“I ain’t never ran from nothin’ but the police.”

Says the song.

 

Or maybe I’ve just been watching too many Hamilton interviews.

Leave a Reply

